Momentum

So, I have just returned from an amazing week at an annual Christian festival called Momentum and I thought I would update you all on what happened!

It really struck me this year what a privilege it is to worship God: on the one hand, who am I to even think about drawing close to Him? On the other, because of my nature and what He has done, worship is the least I can do. A couple of times during the worship, I just observed the beautiful sight of 7,000 people my age lifting up His name. Everyone there was so in love with Jesus and it was so inspiring, it almost brought tears to my eyes.

One of the earliest meetings focused on the theme of forgiveness and where we might harbour unforgiveness. I had known for a while that I needed to forgive and let go of a painful past friendship as it had been affecting my present friendships. The speaker talked about how forgiveness was a choice and how, although our emotions may not want us to, once we had decided to forgive, they would soon catch up. So, I made a decision to forgive and not let the event define me anymore.

One of the biggest things that happened was what I learnt about relationships. I went to a seminar entitled ‘How to find and keep a great relationship.’ It was really practical advice and gave me a lot to think about such as: make sure you have your values decided before you start to date; what have you learnt from your past relationships (seeing as I haven’t had any, I looked at past crushes I have had); and making sure that although a person says they are a Christian, ensuring that they have an independent, working relationship with God. What I loved especially was Danielle Strickland’s advice: ‘Pursue Jesus as fast as you can. Then look beside you-if they can keep up, they might be The One.’ This is my new motto, both for looking for a relationship and for life in general. I was inspired throughout the week by people (particularly Danielle) who were following Jesus as fast as they could and saw Him move in their everyday lives. I want that!

Driving home from the festival, I realised that God had refreshed/strengthened my yearning to know Him genuinely. I talked at the beginning of my blog series about having lustful desires which were not helpful. Well, God said to me over the week: ‘I see your raw heart to know me. That is one desire I want you to indulge in fully.’ God has been challenging me for ages that I do not read the Bible enough or seek Him enough in that way. At Momentum, one seminar speaker said that we had to approach questions about God in the same way as we approach academic work: study. So, I have bought a Study Bible to try and combat this! Carrying it back to my tent, I managed to hit my leg with it so I now have a massive cut by my knee where my new tome of a Bible attacked me. HA! I had also been praying for a while that God would give me a love for His Word and, for the past two mornings, I have woken up eager to read my Bible. Long may that continue!

In one of the later main meetings, Danielle was preaching on letting God’s peace permeate ‘all the way though you’ and then out of you for people to see. My spirit stirred as she said this-yes, I want that! For others to somehow see Jesus in me and experience the life, healing and thrill that I have through knowing Him. That night I told God He could have whatever He could use of me. There is no doubt this is scary but I’m convinced God will be with me.

Another exceptionally cool thing that happened was that a girl in our group was healed of all her kidney problems!! She had even been to hospital the day before because it had flared up. A couple of people prayed for her and almost immediately she reported that her pain had disappeared, she had felt it leave her body! How amazing is that!? She had been walking around in so much pain for the first half of the week-it was plain to see. But, after she was prayed for, she could jump, walk etc. The difference in her was so clear!
Another amazing story we heard was from the festival the week before. In one of the meetings, God had healed many of the pain of self harm-not just the emotional effects but also many showed the event leaders that their physical scars had gone too!

Of course, it’s easy to get the Momentum blues after coming home from such an electric atmosphere but I was reminded today that the same God who moved so powerfully there is the same God I walk with in my everyday. WOWEE.

Anyway, many more stories could be told but for now, until next time.

Leave a comment